Night World: The Secret Vampire

So, yesterday with nothing better to do at the moment, I decided I would finally start reading this book that I bought months ago. I picked up the book at Wal-Mart because it was a steal, $8.66 and it included the first three books in the series. Well, when I got it home, I added it to my “To Be Read” pile and figured I’d get around to it. I didn’t. Some other book always seemed to get my attention.
With Sunday morning cartoons blaring at an uncomfortable level, to keep my 5 year old son busy, I cracked open my book and began to read.
I finished the story in time to watch the Super Bowl.
It starts out from a 16 year old named Poppy’s, point of view. She is happy that her summer vacation is starting, but has a horrible pain in her stomach that makes her double over in agony. And then, it tells you she is going to die.
Kind of morbid, but hey, I’ll go with it. Next thing, she has snapped out of it and is arguing with her twin brother, Phil (whom she looks nothing like), about absolutely nothing. Typical brother/sister type banter, when James walks in. (Cue dramatic music).
Now let me just put it here verbatim, as nothing I could write would do him justice: “It wasn’t just his outlaw good looks, which always reminded her vaguely of James Dean. He had silky light brown hair, a subtle, intelligent face, and gray eyes that were alternately intense and cool. He was the handsomest boy at El Camino High, but that wasn’t it, that wasn’t what Poppy responded to. It was something inside him, something mysterious and compelling and always just out of reach. It made her heart beat fast and her skin tingle.” Huh, he makes my skin tingle, too!
Okay, so now I figure, I just have to read until she finds out he’s a vampire. Oops, didn’t mean to put that spoiler in there….come on….the first book is called “The Secret Vampire” and plus, once he is described as James Dean and the bad boy, that should have given that one away. Sheesh.
The writing seems at first more geared toward a younger audience. Easy words, and a simple rhythm. It isn’t until the reason for her death and the effect it has on everyone around her, that I realize there are tears filling my eyes and rolling down my cheeks, that it dawns on me this is an excellent book.
James is a deep kind of character, I came to find out. He is a tortured vampire. In essence, he is Edward. But, to be fair here, this book was written in 1996 so it’s not a rip off of Twilight. And even more to the point, Louis from Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice (copyright 1976) is the most tortured vampire I have read about to date. It makes the vampire seem…I don’t know….more human, when it exhibits the noble quality of worrying about the state of one’s soul.
Okay, so I don’t want to really spoil the book for anyone else who is reading it, but James has a cousin named Ash who comes in to play close to the end. He is a wild card and tries to start a lot of drama. The book doesn’t go deep into him, just mentions his sisters, which are the first characters mentioned in the second book in the series.
Things work out, in a way, for James and Poppy. Happy endings are always the best. I hope that they come up in the future books (since it looks like there is at least 9 in this series).
Until next time….well…until I finish the second book anyways…
Leave a comment

Filed under YA

Leave a Reply

